The Chairmen of FASAB

Tom Allen

Tom Allen, the current Chairman, began serving as Chair in January 2007 after one year of service as a regular nonfederal member prior to Mr. Mosso’s retirement from FASAB on December 31, 2006. Mr. Allen’s term will end in December 2015. Mr. Allen also serves on the accounting department faculty at Weber State University. Prior to joining FASAB, Allen served as Chairman of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) for nine years and as a part-time member of GASB for one year. Mr. Allen was the State Auditor of Utah from 1984 until he resigned to chair the GASB. Allen has served as Chairman of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountant’s (AICPA) Members in Government Committee and on the AICPA Ethics Executive Committee, Government Accounting and Auditing Committee, and Auditing Standards Board.

David Mosso

David Mosso, the second Chairman, served from February 1997 through the end of December 2006.  Prior to joining FASAB in 1997, Mr. Mosso served for 10 years on the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) including two years as Vice-Chairman of FASB. He also worked on FASB’s major standards-setting projects and international activities following completion of his terms as a member of FASB. Prior to that, he was a senior executive for the U.S. Department of the Treasury, culminating in an appointment as Fiscal Assistant Secretary. He was also an Adjunct Professor of Accounting at Fordham University’s Graduate School of Business Administration.

Elmer Staats

Elmer Staats, the first Chairman, served from October 1990 until January 1997. Prior to his service with FASAB, Mr. Staats was a member of GASB from June 1984 through March 1990. He led the U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO) as Comptroller General of the United States for 15 years, concluding a distinguished career in federal service that included service as Deputy Director of the Budget under Presidents Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson. In 1994, GAO renamed the conference room in which FASAB meetings are most commonly held to the “Staats Briefing Room” in honor of Mr. Staats’ 80th birthday.